We're O Positive.

O Positive is more than a slogan for us.
It's our way of telling a story of the many
successes that are deserving of Ontario's pride.
Are you ready to be a part of our story?

FFA State Convention

On March 17, the luckiest day of the year, the Ontario FFA Chapter congregated in the Ag room at Ontario High School where they waited to load the bus that would be taking them to the 83rd FFA State Convention.  All twenty-four state qualifying Ontario FFA members had been looking forward to convention since the day they qualified and were excited that the date of departure had finally arrived. 

After the long eleven hour drive, the Ontario FFA Chapter, accompanied by the Jordan Valley FFA Chapter, arrived in Medford, Oregon at Crater High School where the official state convention would be hosted.  Many competitions occurred at FFA State Convention and the results of these competitions pleased every competing individual, including their advisors.  Rachel Corn placed first in her competition of Cooperative Quiz.  This competition consists of a test in addition to an interview pertaining to the contest.  She won a trip to Indiana and $100 check.  Placing second in the talent show was Garrett Kitamura where he sang and played the piano in front of nearly 3,000 people. 

As for the teamed competitions, the Agricultural Issues team placed third overall.  This team consisted of seven individuals: Jake Captein, Leona York, Kelly Findley, Nashell Harley, Garrett Kitamura, Rachel Corn, and Joshua Tolman.  Also placing third in the beginning Parliamentary Procedure was the Ontario Chapter team which included Will Price (chairman), Jessica Roland, Kaylie Stowe (Secretary), Alex Darrow, Derek Morales, and Carter FritschJessica Roland also placed fourth in the Competitive Sophomore Public Speaking Contest and also won first in State in the Outstanding Chapter Reporter Award she received a certificate and a $500 check. 

Eight outstanding individuals from the Ontario FFA Chapter also received their State Degrees at FFA State Convention.  To earn this award, each recipient must complete specific paper work in addition to working over 900 hours with their Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) project.  The State Degree recipients this year were Nick Cheatham, Jake Captein, Garrett Kitamura, Nashell Harley, Leona York, Danielle Sage, Casey Gillette, and Jason Alvarado.    

In addition to the competition results, this year